RSS

Joseph Rivera: The New Andrew Luster?

13 Aug
Joseph Rivera

Joseph Rivera

 

In a case that seems to echo that of Andrew Luster, Joseph Rivera has been arrested and charged with multiple sexual assaults involving the use of sedative drugs. Exactly like Andrew. Andrew’s drug of choice was GHB and that might also be what Rivera used. No details yet, but it wouldn’t be surprising if that’s the answer.

 

Andrew Luster

Andrew Luster

 

GHB is one of the so-called Date Rape Drugs. Their treachery lies in that, unlike true intoxicants such as alcohol and the various narcotic and sedative drugs out there, the victim appears more or less normal. Maybe a little giddy but certainly not sloppy drunk. But the victim becomes very complaint and suggestable and has no memory of what happens while under the drug’s influence. Scary stuff.

 
 

5 responses to “Joseph Rivera: The New Andrew Luster?

  1. Frank Karl

    August 13, 2013 at 11:46 am

    Date rape. Nasty business in my opinion. I found a link to a product that is reported to detect several of the common drugs.

    http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/health/drinksavvy-launches-date-rape-drug-detcting-glassware-article-1.1424854

    Assuming they work, will it be economical to stock these items in bars and restaurants across the country? Of course I’m not seeing any information on the rate of false positives and possible interfering additives are unpublished.

    Would a positive test cup be considered as self-incrimination?

    It’s clear, where they is a will there is a criminal way.

    Stay safe………

    Like

     
  2. Elaine Abramson writing as E S Abramson

    August 13, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Like most people I had the mistaken idea that GHB is strictly a date rape drug given to young women. When I was 63 an attorney asked me to meet him at a supermarket lunch counter to discuss my case. While I was obtaining eating utensils he slipped GHB into my sandwich. Within a short period of time I started vomiting and he ran out of the supermarket leaving me alone to face the problem by myself. I drove home but never remembered doing it. I was lucky that I did not have an accident. Read “Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing” for the complete story.

    Like

     
  3. Cheryl B. Dale

    August 13, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    Scary stuff.

    Like

     
  4. Pat Marinelli

    August 13, 2013 at 5:25 pm

    Very scary stuff.

    Like

     
  5. Linda Williams Stirling

    August 14, 2013 at 6:11 pm

    I’ve heard of this drug and am very disturbed by it. A new lesson in you can never be too careful. Never leave your food or drink unattended, of course, but how can you protect yourself from every possibility and still maintain any kind of normal life? It’s a shame there are always people eager to take advantage of things like this. Thanks for sharing the info.

    Like

     

Leave a comment