RSS

On This Day in History: Edgar Allan Poe

07 Oct

True! –nervous –very, very dreadfully nervous I had been and am; but why will you say that I am mad? The disease had sharpened my senses –not destroyed –not dulled them. Above all was the sense of hearing acute. I heard all things in the heaven and in the earth. I heard many things in hell. How, then, am I mad? Hearken! and observe how healthily –how calmly I can tell you the whole story.

The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe

poe

Maybe it’s because I’m a cardiologist, but this short story has always been special to me. As is old Edgar, a master storyteller if there ever was one.
On this date in 1849, at the very young age of 40, the world lost the true father of the mystery novel. God bless thee, Edgar.

Poe Museum

Wikipedia

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 7, 2009 in On This Day, Writing

 

One response to “On This Day in History: Edgar Allan Poe

  1. JNSander

    October 8, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I just returned from VA & visited the Ft. Monroe Casement prison, where Edgar was held for a period of time.

    Like

     

Leave a comment