RSS

I Hear You . . . But You Sound Funny

31 Aug

Most hallucinogenics cause visual distortions and altered perceptions. Remember Lucy’s kaleidoscopic eyes? Users often misinterpret what they see (marmalade skies) or see things that aren’t really there (pink elephants). DiPT (Diisopropyltryptamine), while it can also cause visual and perceptual problems, primarily causes auditory distortion. For you guitar players out there, it can sound like a flanger or phase shifter. A wobbling or swirling of the sound.

One form of this drug, 5-Methoxy-diisopropyltryptamine, is sold on the streets as “Foxy” or “Foxy Methoxy.” In addition to auditory distortions, it can also cause euphoria, hypersexuality, emotional lability, hyperactivity, anxiety, and even out-of-body experiences.

Sounds like a Van Halen or ZZ Top concert to me.

 

I know all you creators of fictional villains out there are constantly looking for ways your bad guys can cause harm and aggravation to other characters. Employing this drug in your story could produce some interesting scenes.

 

4 responses to “I Hear You . . . But You Sound Funny

  1. Lynn Francisco Casella

    August 31, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    No kidding.

    Like

     
  2. Jim Facciuto

    August 31, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    very interesting…..I remember listening to ZZ one night….and suddenly their sounds confused me and I thought my head was somewhere in Mississippi…..but I was actually stumbling through the parking lot of an invisible 7/11…….did some one slip me a micky of” FOXY” DOC??

    Like

     
  3. amyshojai

    September 1, 2012 at 7:40 am

    Awesome-sauce! *making a note*

    Like

     
  4. Not The President

    September 16, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    I once injested 1 tsp of a water based kava extract. Normally, kava does not cause halucinations; it only acts like a mild tranquilizer. However, this time i exerienced a visual halucination of a very tiny marching band. They were about 1-1/2″ tall in red uniforms with ostrich plumes on their hats. They were led by a baton twirler, followed by a guy with a large base drum, and then the rest with trumpets, snare drums, clarinets. The colors were very vivid, like they were lit up with light. Kind of like one of those cheesey Thomas Kincade painting. Anyway, they marched accross my bed and then into my pillow case.

    I knew it was all in my head, but it seemed so reel that I can picture it in my mind.

    Like

     

Leave a comment