RSS

DP Lyle “In Conversation” with Isabel Allende

05 Aug

DPL&IAllende 600X401

At the recent Book Passage Mystery Writers Conference I had the great honor of being “In Conversation” with the remarkable Isabel Allende. Isabel is smart, funny, quick of mind and word, and a very gifted literary writer who recently finished her first work of crime fiction. I am equally honored that she asked my advice with some of the medical and forensic aspects of this fun and gripping story.

 

Isabel on TED from 2007.

 

Ripper

RIPPER will be out in January, 2014. Look for it. It’s a wild ride.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2013 in Writing

 

8 responses to “DP Lyle “In Conversation” with Isabel Allende

  1. Craig Faustus Buck

    August 5, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    Congrats, Doug. I’m a huge fan of hers (and of yours). Is there a podcast available anywhere?

    Like

     
    • D.P. Lyle, MD

      August 6, 2013 at 5:49 am

      Craig–She’s amazing. No, there isn’t a podcast of our conversation. Wish there was.

      Like

       
  2. Brenda

    August 6, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    I”ll look forward to reading the book! It would have been nice to hear a podcast had one existed but it is nice to hear about the conversation anyway! Thanks!

    I always enjoy this blog and appreciate the education & assistance.

    Like

     
    • D.P. Lyle, MD

      August 6, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      I added a link to the post that will direct you to a talk she gave on TED. Funny and moving—as Isabel is.

      Like

       
  3. Karen Tintori

    August 6, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    Two of my favorite authors together! Very fun to see. I love magical realism and devoured House of the Spirits and all that followed. One day I’d like to try my hand at magical realism. I thought it would work in the book I’m working on now, but not so much.

    Like

     
    • D.P. Lyle, MD

      August 6, 2013 at 3:21 pm

      Thanks, Karen. I loved Maya’s Notebook, too. And Ripper is a thrill ride. Literary but a thrill none the less.

      Like

       
  4. Cheryl B. Dale

    August 7, 2013 at 8:17 am

    Nice picture of two nice authors!

    Like

     
  5. Jodie Renner

    August 10, 2013 at 8:19 am

    Awesome! You’re really a mover and shaker, Doug! I look forward to seeing you at Killer Nashville, where you’ll be the Guest of Honor!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
