RSS

My Father’s Pre-Civil War Log Cabin Survived Alabama Tornadoes

15 May

Back in the 1970s, my father, who is now 92, bought a pre-Civil War log cabin up in Tennessee. He had it torn apart and transported to Huntsville and then spent the next few years rebuilding, improving, and adding to it. He finally sold it because Mom wasn’t thrilled with the prospect of living there. Too far from the city.

The recent tornadoes that hit Huntsville and many other Alabama cities tore up the neighborhood but the house stood, protecting a family of three in the process.

Pretty cool. I’m proud of him to say the least. It’s always been his nature to “do things right.” This is an example.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Misc, Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “My Father’s Pre-Civil War Log Cabin Survived Alabama Tornadoes

  1. Lee Lofland

    May 15, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Great story, Doug. And I found it just as remarkable that your dad is 92 and is still so fit.

     
    • D.P. Lyle, MD

      May 15, 2011 at 11:37 am

      He is amazing. He ran his business until he was 85 and was still clogging then. He and mom dance less than they used to but they still go from time to time.

       
  2. Rob Walker

    May 15, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    Damn glad to hear this. For one I am a Civil War and history buff, several historical fic. titles to my name, and my mother’s family was centered at Tuskeegee, AL — The McEachern family. My grandparents were the best people in my life, and we five children loved going to see them FROM Chicago every summer for two weeks of heaven as it was out of Chicago! The Country!

    Rob
    City for Ransom

     
  3. Pat Kahn

    May 15, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Very impressive! What a great cabin and, may I add, a terrific dad! I hope your folks live long, in good health and surrounded by loving friends.

    Pat

     
  4. Caroline Clemmons

    May 15, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    You’re lucky to have that heritage. The 1810 log cabin from my ancestors was washed away in a 1926 flood in Tennessee. We don’t even have a photo of it, although my mom’s cousin had a painting done from her descriptions to the artist.

     
  5. Daniel Smith

    May 16, 2011 at 5:31 am

    Wow. Quite impressive.

     
  6. Brenda

    May 16, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I am so glad to hear that this survived! What an interesting tale of your dad rescuing it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,456 other followers

